All Department
Polka Db/Pno Strings Books Recital Music

Polka Db/Pno

Price: AUD $28.95

A short and characterful dance and ideal for the intermediate bassist. Frantisek Gregora (1819-1887) was one of the leading Czech bassists of his generation and composed many works for double bass. His music is charming, appealing and accessible for the enterprising bassist. This accessible and effective edition was made by Miloslav Gajdos, the leading expert on the music of Gregora. 'A useful teaching piece...the forays into thumb position are not difficult, and everything lies well under the hand. The piece is musically unchallenging but satisfying to play.' (ESTA News & Views) Performance Level: 6;7. Miloslav Gajdos is one of Europe's most active and inventive bassist-composers. He was born in northern Moravia in 1948 and initially learned violin before transferring to the double bass, studying with Alois Kriz, Jiri Bortlicek and Ludwig Streicher. He has been Professor of Double Bass at the Vejvenovsky Conseravtoire in Kromeriz (Czech Republic) since 1971, and was a member of the Olomouc Symphony Orchestra for a number of years. He is Director of the Gregora International Double Bass Competition, founded in 1979 and held everytwo years in Kromeriz, and has been a juror at many competitions in Hun gary, Germany and the Czech Republic. Miloslav Gajdos is a prolific composer and arranger and, for almost 40 years, has produced a vast body oforiginal works and transcriptions for double bass which are performed w orldwide. His original works combine Czech lyricism and melody with brilliant technical demands, and music from one to sixteen double basses. Hewrites in a traditional and accessible style, producing music for every level of performer, particularly for the advanced bassist, and his many works for unaccompanied double bass are frequently chosen as internatio nal competition repertoire. Miloslav Gajdos was Recital Music's Featured Composer in 2007 and has recently revised a number of earlier works for the intermediate bassist which will be published by Recital Music. [Gajdos is pronounced GUY-DOSH]

Products related to this item
Back to Top